Lola and the Boy Next Door

Who loved Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins???? I DID!!!!!!! So naturally I read the second one and it was AWESOME!!!!!

Who wouldn’t fall in love with a character who wore wigs to school and who made a promise to herself that she would not wear the same outfit twice. Mind you, said outfits include an old picnic blanket, a white sheet, and gold sleeves as leg warmers but you can’t put a damper on free expression. Anyway, Lola is just a normal girl. She has two gay dads, she wants to look special for her winter formal (by dressing like Marie Antoinette), and she just wants her dads to like her boyfriend (who happens to be 5 years her senior).

Oh, and her next door neighbor whom she has loved forever has moved back and has complicated her (almost) perfect like way out of proportion.

So yep, just your average run of the mill teenager 🙂

One of the things I like most about the book is that Lola is the fun, pretty, wacky girl who boys flock to,  instead of the nerdy girl who is Lola’s best friend. I was getting sick of those kinds of books. I also liked that Anna and St. Claire made appearances because I LOVE THEM and THEY ARE SSOOO CUTE!!!!!!!!

Lola was a fun read that I devoured in 2 days and I can’t wait for Ms. Stephanie to write another book, preferably with a boy with a Southern accent because they (along with most other accents) are my weakness 🙂

I cried (in case you haven’t noticed I cry/almost cry a lot when reading books, but during the middle parts, not at the end because as we all know, I DO NOT read unhappy endings) but it was a good kind of crying because it meant that it wasn’t just a fluff book (which are good sometimes but not always) but a book with substance.

Yeah, don’t be fooled by the name people (Stick It reference), though it sounds like one of those trashy romance novels, its really not, and you can take that to the bank

PS. I don’t really know what that means but it sounds cool 🙂

04/28/2011. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. karyn replied:

    Oooh. I want to read this one! Anna and the French Kiss was such a perfect first love romance, and Lola sounds even more my style than Anna (I never did understand her reluctance. FRANCE. France, people. Without parents. Hello awesome.)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

